Brilliance Awards
Share |

Brilliance Awards

The AAGC’s annual Brilliance Awards will be presented on November 15, 2019. These awards will recognize members who exhibit excellence in our business. The awards were designed for those who exemplify magnificent, grand or superb qualities that make them uniquely sharp in the multi-family housing field and sets them apart from their peers.

Please keep brilliance in mind when nominating those property professionals whom you feel exhibit loyalty and dedication to the industry with a commitment to excellence. Nominees are required to have worked in the apartment industry for at least one year, attended AAGC meetings and events, must earn a minimum of 30 points from the score card and be willing to be interviewed.

(Score cards will be sent to the nominees to fill out and return and are subject to verification by the Selection Committee.)

The deadline for nominations is Friday, September 27, 2019. All nominees must attend the Brilliance Awards ceremony on Friday, November 15, 2019 to be eligible to win.

The following Community Level Awards will be selected:

  • The Resident Service Associate of the Year 
  • Service Professional of the Year
  • Maintenance Supervisor of the Year
  • Leasing Professional of the Year
  • Assistant Property Manager of the Year
  • Property Manager of the Year
  • Regional Manager of the Year

Click here to access the printable copy of the 2019 Nominations Form

Each year, the AAGC honors individuals who have exhibited outstanding service and dedication to the Association with the following Awards. These individuals have shown true commitment in promoting the Association, its mission and values. Please use the form below to submit your nomination. A brief nomination letter must be included describing the achievements and accomplishments of the nominee. All nominations will be reviewed by an independent panel for consideration.

All of the following must be met:

  • Must be employed by an AAGC member in good standing as of September 2019.
  • Must have actively served on at least one committee this year or either attended AAGC sponsored events.

Rock Star of the Year: This award is presented to the member superstar who has recently become active either by new membership or recent resurgence in the AAGC. Their passion and vigor have been displayed in Their participation and support to the betterment efforts of the industry and the AAGC.

Volunteer of the Year: This award is presented to the member who understands that growth and success are achieved by giving of oneself. This individual has donated countless hours of their time to support the AAGC charities, membership, committees, and the local community.
Industry Partner of the Year – This award is presented to the industry partner who has demonstrated and understands that attending AAGC meetings, volunteering with committees and charities associated with the AAGC is vital to the growth of the association and their industry. They are always present, lending their help and support when needed, regardless of whether they are on that committee or not. They are truly passionate about the industry they work in and always promote the AAGC.

Philanthropist of the Year: This award is presented to the individual who has gone above and beyond the call of duty not only for the association but also for the community. Accomplishments would include, but are not limited to the desire to promote the welfare of others, expressed especially by generous donations of monetary contributions, and service to the community through volunteer hours for the betterment of the community as it correlates to the AAGC.

Lustrum Award: As simply stated by the name of the award, Lustrum means five years of service. This award is presented to a member who has been active and supportive in the AAGC for a minimum of 5 years. This individual has gone above and beyond the call of duty for the association. They have served on multiple committees and been directly involved in the growth and betterment of the AAGC. This individual has never stopped supporting making our industry simply the best.

Lifetime Achievement Award: This award is presented to the member who is a continuous supporter and lifeline to the AAGC. This member understands that the AAGC and the work we do makes a difference in the industry, community and their career. While continuously serving for a minimum of 10 years, this individual has never stopped being involved and has maintained an active presence by being on the board, committees, volunteering with charities, and attending AAGC sponsored events. They have been committed and passionate about the purpose and mission of the AAGC.

Click here to access a printable copy of the 2019 Member Awards Nominations Form

You can mail or fax this form with supporting information no later than Friday, September 27, 2019 to:  AAGC, PO Box 7515, Columbia, SC 29202  or Fax to
(803) 252-0589.  If you have any questions, please call the AAGC Office at
(803) 252-5032.

2018 Beautification Awards

0-5 Years Age Category: Creekside at Greenlawn
6-10 Years Age Category:  Preserve at Spears Creek
11-16 Years Age Category:  Lullwater at Saluda Pointe
17-23 Years Age Category:  Wellington Farms
24 and older Years Age Category:  St. Andrews Commons

2018 Maintenance Mania Winners

First Place: Michael Bailey – Legacy at Sandhill
Second Place: Oscar Urizar – The Haven at Market Street Station
Third Place: Troy Hinson – Grandy Oaks

2018 Maintenance Mania Race Car Winners

People’s Choice Race Car: Oscar Urizar – The Haven at Market Street Station
Best Use of Maintenance Materials: Thomas Lawson – Preserve at Spears Creek

2018 Expo Winners

Best of Show - National – The Liberty Group
Best of Show – Regional – Loebsack & Brownlee PLLC
Best of Show - Local – Relocation & Corporate Concepts
Best Product Display – ACRS and FSI
Most Original Theme – Sherwin Williams
Rookie Award – Rumsey Construction & Restoration Services

2018 Member Awards

Volunteer of the Year: Brian Hartless – Multifamily Pest Control
Member of the Year: Heather Cannon – ACRS
Rookie of the Year – Eric Gilfus – Commercial Fitness Service & Sales
Associate Member of the Year – Kathi Stephens – BG Multifamily
Direct Member of the Year – Jennifer Kemp – The Roseberry
Lifetime Achievement Award – Joei Lemacks – Waters Edge at Harbison

2018 Brilliance Awards

The Brilliant Ruby (Leasing Professional): Taylor Stancil – The Roseberry
The Brilliant Topaz (Service Professional): Kirk Otts – Legacy at Sandhill
The Brilliant Emerald (Assistant Manager): Tiffany Cochran – Atlantic at Parkridge
The Brilliant Sapphire Maintenance Supervisor): Michael Bailey – Legacy at Sandhill
The Brilliant Diamond (Manager): Farris C. Griffin – Preserve at Windsor Lake